Primary Mathematics Courses

Please select a course below for further details:

2018-19

Courses for subject leaders, classroom teachers, NQT and NQT1 teachers and TAs

All courses will be held at St. William’s Primary School, Norwich (unless otherwise stated)
Day courses: 9.30am – 3.30pm
Twilights: 4.15 – 5.45pm

Maths Subject Leader Briefings (Termly)

Tuesday 2nd October 2018
Tuesday 5th February 2019
Tuesday 18th June 2019

Maths subject leader briefings will provide an opportunity for maths subject leaders to:

· be updated on current developments in mathematics
· examine ways to lead numeracy in order to raise achievement
· share good practice and network with other subject leaders

An agenda will be published at the start of each term, to ensure the content is up to date

Venue: St. William’s Primary School, Norwich
Time: 4.15-5.45pm

Maths Courses for NQT and NQT+1 teachers (Termly)

Thursday 4th October 2018
Enhancing primary maths teaching

Wednesday 6th February 2019
Inspiring ideas for primary maths teaching

Wednesday 5th June 2019
Challenging thinking and reasoning in primary maths teaching

Maths courses for all teachers

Friday 28th September
Conjecturing & generalising in maths: Designing opportunities for all pupils to develop problem solving and reasoning skills and become competent mathematicians using maths ‘Super Powers’

Thursday 7th February 2019
How to keep the ‘rapid graspers’ engaged: challenging the higher attaining pupils mathematicians

Thursday 7th March 2019
Mastering multiplication (and division) through lively learning.

Tuesday 4th June 2019
Supporting subject knowledge development: Calculating with fractions (1.30pm – 4.30pm)

Wednesday 19th June 2019
Supporting subject knowledge development: Developing Algebraic thinking in KS1 and KS2 (1.30pm – 4.30pm)

Thursday 20th June 2019
‘It’s ok to be stuck’: Developing resilience and persistence in the maths classroom

Maths courses for EYFS teachers

Wednesday 6th March 2019
Marvellous Mathematics in the EYFS: Exploring how the key mathematical skills can be nurtured appropriately through meaningful play and rich practical ideas

Maths courses for Teaching Assistants

Wednesday 3rd October
Refresh and update your subject knowledge for supporting pupils during their mathematics lessons

Leave a Reply